Our Communities

Sturgeon County has several beautiful municipalities. Start here for a short general insight on each one.

Media Statement

Media Statement

April 1, 2020

Council votes to waive penalties for residential utility bills and extends residential tax deadline to reduce economic impact of COVID-19 on residents

Sturgeon County, Alberta – Yesterday, Sturgeon County Council voted to waive residential penalties on unpaid municipal water and wastewater accounts from March 31 to June 30 while assuring disconnections of these services will not be performed by Sturgeon County during this time period.

Council also passed a motion to extend the deadline for municipal taxpayers for 2020 taxes from the last business day in June to August 31 without penalty. After August 31, all regular tax penalties will apply which include 6% penalty on September 1 and October 1.

“We do encourage taxpayers who are able to continue paying their tax and utility bills on time to do so, but we recognize the financial hardship many residents are currently facing,” comments Sturgeon County Mayor Alanna Hnatiw. “This provides financial flexibility to residential utility account holders financially impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic to prioritize their financial obligations without the fear of penalty or disconnection.”

To stay up-to-date on COVID19 changes and impacts, please visit our dedicated webpage at

Resident inquiries can be directed to the following:


Theme picker

Latest News and Posts


Stay Connected

Looking for more information about life in Sturgeon County?

Visit the Sturgeon County website at

Sturgeon County

Follow Us on Social Media

We're on Twitter and Facebook, like and follow us!


Stay Informed

Stay Connected

Join our email list for the latest news, updates and opportunities in Sturgeon County!

Contact Us

Economic Development
Click here for more Contact Information

Sturgeon County Centre
9613 - 100 Street
Morinville, AB, T8R 1L9

Hours: M-F 8:30AM - 4:30PM
Closed on Statutory Holidays

Phone: 780.939.8367
Toll Free: 1.866.939.9303

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement |  Copyright [2019] © Sturgeon County
Login | Register | Website by WebmontonMedia