Our Communities

Sturgeon County has several beautiful municipalities. Start here for a short general insight on each one.

Counties pass Collaboration Agreement

Counties pass Collaboration Agreement

Agreement is first of 15 to be sanctioned by Council

Sturgeon County, Alberta -- During the regular Council meeting of October 8, 2019, Council sanctioned an Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF) agreement with Parkland County by giving third reading of Bylaw 1455/19 “for the purpose of adopting an Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF) between Sturgeon County and Parkland County.” Parkland County also passed third reading of their matching bylaw on October 8.

“This is the first of 15 agreements to be completed as per the MGA requirements. ICFs are a tool to reinforce the good work that municipalities are already engaging in to ensure we are collaborating and finding efficiencies to build the strongest communities we can. Delivering a high level of service to our residents has always been a top priority." said Sturgeon County Mayor Alanna Hnatiw.

Under Alberta’s Municipal Government Act, municipalities sharing a border must complete ICF agreements by April 2020. These frameworks ensure collaboration is being considered between municipal neighbours in the areas of transportation, water and wastewater, solid waste, emergency services and recreation services.

Sturgeon County and Parkland County’s ICF focuses only on recreation services as the remaining services are covered through the Metropolitan Region Servicing Plan, since both municipalities are members of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board.

ICFs must also contain an agreed to dispute resolution process to manage disputes that could arise regarding the delivery and cost sharing of services after the ICF has been adopted.

The Administrations of both Sturgeon County and Parkland County have collaborated to ensure that the ICF meets the requirements in the MGA and the expectations of both municipalities.

The agreement will be reviewed once every four years, at minimum; however, there are mechanisms within the ICF to trigger conversations around potential future collaborations.

For more information, please contact: 

Sheila Moore
Manager, Corporate Communications


Theme picker

Latest News and Posts


Stay Connected

Looking for more information about life in Sturgeon County?

Visit the Sturgeon County website at

Sturgeon County

Follow Us on Social Media

We're on Twitter and Facebook, like and follow us!


Stay Informed

Stay Connected

Join our email list for the latest news, updates and opportunities in Sturgeon County!

Contact Us

Economic Development
Click here for more Contact Information

Sturgeon County Centre
9613 - 100 Street
Morinville, AB, T8R 1L9

Hours: M-F 8:30AM - 4:30PM
Closed on Statutory Holidays

Phone: 780.939.8367
Toll Free: 1.866.939.9303

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement |  Copyright [2019] © Sturgeon County
Login | Register | Website by WebmontonMedia