Our Communities

Sturgeon County has several beautiful municipalities. Start here for a short general insight on each one.

Council sets date for Division 2 by-election

Council sets date for Division 2 by-election

Sturgeon County, AB - During the Regular Council Meeting, on July 9, Council scheduled Tuesday, September 17, 2019 as the official date to elect a new Councillor for Division 2.
The by-election will fill the Council seat left by Councillor Susan Evans, who resigned on June 27, 2019.

Division 2 includes the communities of Cardiff (Echoes and Pittsburg), Carbondale, and the following areas of Sturgeon Valley: Green Acres, Richfield Estates, Upper Manor Pointe, The Banks of Sturgeon Valley, Greystone Manor, Summerbrook Estates, Upper Manor Estates, River’s Gate, Sturgeon Heights, Manor Estates II, Pinnacle Ridge and Riverstone Pointe.
The Candidate’s Handbook for Division 2 residents interested in seeking election will be available on the Sturgeon County website at on Wednesday, July 10, 2019.
Prospective candidates must complete the required forms and provide a $25 deposit in order to be nominated. The Returning Officer will accept nominations between 8:30 a.m. on July 10 and12 noon on August 6, 2019. Please call the Returning Officer at 780-939-8377 to make an appointment to submit your nomination paper.
Additional details regarding voting opportunities will be announced shortly.

For more information, please contact:
Jesse Sopko, Returning Officer


Susan Evans' resignation letter


Documents to download

Latest News and Posts

Stay Connected

Looking for more information about life in Sturgeon County?

Visit the Sturgeon County website at

Sturgeon County

Follow Us on Social Media

We're on Twitter and Facebook, like and follow us!


Stay Informed

Stay Connected

Join our email list for the latest news, updates and opportunities in Sturgeon County!

Contact Us

Economic Development
Click here for more Contact Information

Sturgeon County Centre
9613 - 100 Street
Morinville, AB, T8R 1L9

Hours: M-F 8:30AM - 4:30PM
Closed on Statutory Holidays

Phone: 780.939.8367
Toll Free: 1.866.939.9303

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement |  Copyright [2019] © Sturgeon County
Login | Register | Website by WebmontonMedia