Our Communities

Sturgeon County has several beautiful municipalities. Start here for a short general insight on each one.

2019 Dale MacMillan Scholarships Announced

2019 Dale MacMillan Scholarships Announced

Sturgeon County, AB - Sturgeon County Council presented Nolan Reed and Riley Soetaert each with a $2000 cheque after being chosen as the 2019 recipients of the Dale MacMillan Memorial Scholarship.

Nolan Reed is a life-long resident of Sturgeon County who takes pride in being an active, contributing member of the community. Raised in the Namao area, Nolan puts great value in education, and has honed his leadership skills through participation in school clubs and organizing fundraising events. His contributions to community include helping organize the Canada 150 celebration in Namao as well as Namao Days and volunteering with the 2019 Namao Outdoor Hockey Tournament. The Dale MacMillan Scholarship will help him to follow in his father’s footsteps as he begins his studies in Instrument Engineering Technology at NAIT this fall.

Riley Soetaert has lived in the Calahoo area of Sturgeon County for his entire life. Much of his volunteer time has been spent in support of the West Country Hearth including helping with construction of the Harmony Haven Two. He has also helped with fundraising efforts, including participating in three separate musicals and volunteering for the West Country Hearth ATTACK! obstacle race. Riley is building on his passion for helping the community by pursuing a career in firefighting, and the Dale MacMillan scholarship will assist him in completing his Emergency Medical Technician training.

Congratulations to both recipients!

The Dale MacMillan Memorial Scholarship commemorates Dale MacMillan who was instrumental in helping achieve a balance between residents and gravel extraction operations in the Calahoo and Villeneuve area.Two Sturgeon County students are chosen every year and receives $2,000 toward their post-secondary education. The scholarships are made possible through the Calahoo-Villeneuve Gravel Extraction Community Enhancement Fund.


For more information, please contact:

Sheila Moore
Manager, Corporate Communications


Theme picker

Latest News and Posts


Stay Connected

Looking for more information about life in Sturgeon County?

Visit the Sturgeon County website at

Sturgeon County

Follow Us on Social Media

We're on Twitter and Facebook, like and follow us!


Stay Informed

Stay Connected

Join our email list for the latest news, updates and opportunities in Sturgeon County!

Contact Us

Economic Development
Click here for more Contact Information

Sturgeon County Centre
9613 - 100 Street
Morinville, AB, T8R 1L9

Hours: M-F 8:30AM - 4:30PM
Closed on Statutory Holidays

Phone: 780.939.8367
Toll Free: 1.866.939.9303

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement |  Copyright [2019] © Sturgeon County
Login | Register | Website by WebmontonMedia