Our Communities

Sturgeon County has several beautiful municipalities. Start here for a short general insight on each one.

Joint Release - St. Albert & Sturgeon Regional Partners to Sign VTRA Community Protocol

Joint Release - St. Albert & Sturgeon Regional Partners to Sign VTRA Community Protocol

The Canadian Centre for Threat Assessment and Trauma Response (CTATR) has developed a specialized Violence Threat Risk Assessment (VTRA) Protocol to address the need for a multi-disciplinary approach to respond to potential threats in our schools and communities. The City of St. Albert, along with many partners, will be declaring their continued commitment to participate in specialized VTRA training and the Protocol’s implementation in future emergency situations affecting our communities. 

The Protocol’s development reflects multi-disciplinary, scientific research from experts, including medical and mental health professionals, law enforcement and specialists in the field of threat management. The Protocol has been previously adopted by organizations across the country, including mental health institutions, police services, children’s aide societies, probation offices and hospitals, among others. The Protocol promotes common language and understanding of the VTRA model, makes use of a broad range of expertise and solidifies the importance of timely collaboration about children or youth who pose a risk of violence towards themselves or others

The Protocol signatories include the following partners:
- AHS Addiction and Mental Health Edmonton Zone
- Canadian Armed Forces Military Police Group
- City of St. Albert
- Conseil scolaire Centre-Nord No. 2
- Government of Alberta (Justice and Solicitor General, Children’s Services, Edmonton Region)
- Greater St. Albert Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 734
- Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Morinville Detachment
- Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Redwater Detachment
- Royal Canadian Mounted Police, St. Albert Detachment
- St. Albert and Sturgeon Regional Collaborative Service Delivery
- St. Albert Public Schools
- Sturgeon County
- Sturgeon Public Schools
- The Father’s House Christian School
- Town of Bon Accord
- Town of Gibbons
- Town of Redwater


Amy Nastase
Corporate Communications Advisor
City of St. Albert


Latest News and Posts

Stay Connected

Looking for more information about life in Sturgeon County?

Visit the Sturgeon County website at

Sturgeon County

Follow Us on Social Media

We're on Twitter and Facebook, like and follow us!


Stay Informed

Stay Connected

Join our email list for the latest news, updates and opportunities in Sturgeon County!

Contact Us

Economic Development
Click here for more Contact Information

Sturgeon County Centre
9613 - 100 Street
Morinville, AB, T8R 1L9

Hours: M-F 8:30AM - 4:30PM
Closed on Statutory Holidays

Phone: 780.939.8367
Toll Free: 1.866.939.9303

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement |  Copyright [2019] © Sturgeon County
Login | Register | Website by WebmontonMedia